55 Words of inspiration:

55 words of inspiration:
The thought was that if one had only a very limited time to say something inspirational to the young, what would that be?

10. Only ten words !
* Arise, Awake and Stop not till the goal is reached !
9. Only nine words !
* Let noble thoughts come to us from all directions.
8. Only eight words !
* The harder I work, the luckier I get.
7. Only seven words !
* Neither a borrower nor a lender be
6. Only six words !
* No one can imprison my mind.
5. Only five words !
* Be a lamp unto yourself
* I think therefore I am
4. Only four words !
* God doesn’t play dice
3. Only three words !
* Ekla Chalo Re
2. Only two words !
* Just Shine

1. Only one word !
* Excel. The young will probably make it XL. How briefer can you get !!!!!!

But if you can take a bit longer, this one from Isaac Newton: I do not know what I may appear to the world but to myself I am like a child on the seashore looking for a prettier pebble or a smoother shell, while the whole ocean of truth lay undiscovered before me.

If I have been able to see further than others, it is because I have stood on the shoulders of giants.

Source of the above:
10 th is from Swami Vivekanand
9th is from Rg Veda
8th is attributed to Thomas Jefferson : “I find that the harder I work, the more luck I seem to have.”
– Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826)

7th is from Shakespeare Hamlet Act 1 Scene 3 Polonius to Leartes

6th is by Mahatma Gandhi :”You can chain me, you can torture me, you can even destroy this body, but you will never imprison my mind.”

5th is lord Buddha ; the alternative by Descartes;
4th is by Einstein
3rd is Rabindranath Tagore.

2nd and 1st are my personal philosophical guides.

But then I learnt of this quote from Alexander the Great:
”I had rather excel others in the knowledge of what is excellent, than in the extent of my power and dominion.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

